Light Ahead

Light Ahead

 

We’ve walked this valley hand in hand

And found some girls to join our band.

Naked, crying and full of fear

We welcomed them in and dried their tears.

Their broken hearts we sought to heal,

And let them know things now were well.

Unexpected joy in this valley deep

Those hidden girls that we will keep.

And now we’ve turned the bend and see

Though still a ways, we’ll all be free.

The pain and fear and brokenness

Is melting off in wholesomeness.

So take my hand. Our time is near

To stretch our wings and shed our fears,

To love, to live, to dream to dare.

Believe me, Love, we will get there!

And together we’ll make it.

Together we’ll stand,

Arm in arm and hand in hand,

Lovers and loving as God has planned.

You’re still my girl, the wife of my youth

It will be worth this healing truth

For though ‘twas hard to face the past,

My love for you will surely last.

Sam

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ivory
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 00:56:37

    I followed your link here from Discussing Dissociation.

    Wanted to cry when I read what you wrote. You are one in a million and your wife is so very lucky to be in the sunshine you provide for her.

    My husband divorced me when he found out, so I am so proud for you, that you recognize DID as a profound part of who your wife is and not just a disorder.

    Reply

    • Sam Ruck
      Oct 19, 2010 @ 07:40:01

      Hi Ivory,

      I’m so sorry your husband left you. It is terribly difficult to be the spouse of someone with DID, and yet I love my wife, and now that the girls have entered into my life, too, they are truly just delightful especially as they have gotten a lot of healing.

      I hope the best for you and that you find someone who is safe who can help you and the insiders feel safe and loved and welcomed. That is mostly what I do for all my girls, and it has fostered such incredible healing in the 2+ years we have been on this healing journey.

      Sam

      Reply

  2. Stephanie
    Jul 31, 2016 @ 15:21:57

    Again, it is beautiful, and thanks. This is my time for learning, getting prepared. Glad to have found your site, and insight.
    You are helping many, truely many.

    Reply

    • Sam Ruck
      Aug 01, 2016 @ 08:37:29

      Thank you again for your kind words. Sometimes it’s hard to believe that I’m helping many; I wish it were more, but I am glad for those who I have been able to help.
      Sam

      Reply

Leave a Reply

